Books I’ve Read – 2013

2013 reading

How shocked I was when my Goodreads account said I had read over 50 books in 2013!  I often say that I’m a slow reader (compared to my bookish friends, anyway), but I guess I’m a determined reader!  Just for fun, here are my books of 2013, broken into categories.  I would provide links to all of them, but I’ll just link to my Goodreads account.

Books for school/work:

  • The Revolution of Evelyn Serrano by Sonia Manzano
  • Pinned by Sharon G. Flake
  • Take What You Can Carry by Kevin C. Pyle (also a graphic novel)
  • Friends With Boys by Faith Erin Hicks (also a graphic novel)
  • Marcelo in the Real World by Francisco X. Stork

Audiobooks:

  • Princess Academy by Shannon Hale
  • Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor
  • Steampunk! edited by Kelly Link and Gavin J. Grant
  • Ask the Passengers by A.S. King
  • The London Eye Mystery by Siobhan Dowd
  • Three Tales of My Father’s Dragon by Ruth Stiles Gannett
  • Liar and Spy by Rebecca Stead
  • Inkheart by Cornelia Funke
  • Shades of Grey by Jasper Fforde (whaaaat? An adult novel??)
  • Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta
  • The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
  • Seraphina by Rachel Hartman
  • M is for Magic by Neil Gaiman
  • Chains by Laurie Halse Anderson
  • The Last Summer of the Death Warriors by Francisco X. Stork
  • The Tale of Desperaux by Kate DiCamillo
  • Paper Towns by John Green (a reread)
  • The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman
  • World War Z by Max Brooks
  • The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater
  • The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams (a reread)

Over the summer, I was commuting 4 hours in a week and often doing repetitive work, which left a lot of time for listening to audiobooks.  I’m not sure I’ll get the chance to listen to as many books in 2014.

The rare adult books:

  • FINALLY finished Anna Karenina this year – I feel a little cheap counting that one, seeing as I was at least 3/4 finished already.
  • Call the Midwife by Jennifer Worth (the memoir that launched the popular BBC series)
  • Jesus of Nazareth, Part Two: Holy Week: From the Entrance into Jerusalem to the Resurrection by Pope Benedict XVI
  • Steal like an Artist by Austin Kleon
  • Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh
  • A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki
  • Tree and Leaf by J.R.R. Tolkien

Sit-down-and-read books:

  • The Thief, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, and A Conspiracy of Kings by Megan Whalen Turner
  • The Lucy Variations by Sara Zarr
  • Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness
  • The Book Thief by Markus Zusak (a reread)
  • Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card
  • The Bitter Kingdom by Rae Carson
  • Allegiant by Veronica Roth
  • Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein
  • Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell
  • Midwinterblood by Marcus Sedgwick
  • Attack on Titan, vol. 1 & 2 (a manga series)
  • Sumo by Thien Pham (a VERY short manga)
5 thoughts on “Books I’ve Read – 2013

  1. Oh, how I wish I could read as much as you do. I’m always distracted by quirky tv shows or pesky lesson plans. I like the idea of audiobooks, though! When I lived in the UK, I would listen to audiobooks during my 1hr trip to work on the tube. They make reading much more accessible. Great post!

    Kayla from My One Nightstand: For Girls Who Date Books
    myonenightstandblog.wordpress.com

  2. Katie, this is super impressive! I’m always sidetracked by the Sunday paper and our excessive magazine subscriptions. But besides Eleanor and Park, which I’m reading now, most of these titles are new to me. What were your faves?

    • So many favorites! I wanted to highlight some, but I knew if I didn’t just post this, it would collect cobwebs.
      World War Z blew me away with its depth and concept. It’s nothing like the movie, and that’s a good thing!
      Call the Midwife was also a personal favorite, and I’m reading the following books now.
      Megan Whalen Turner’s books were absolutely wonderful, but you sort of have to get through the first one before getting to the really good stuff.
      And basically ALL of the audiobooks I listened to were excellent! This is making me want to revisit these books and review them, so hopefully, you’ll get more detail later. Thanks again!

  3. Mm, I think Call the Midwife might be a good match for me. Thanks for picking a few! Also, I have to say, I’m loving Eleanor and Park so much. I may have to finish every Rainbow Rowell book before I move on to another author!

  4. Pingback: Reading as a writer: What we like | Lauren Kells

Leave a Reply

